I really should be ashamed of myself

Bloganuary writing prompt
Name an attraction or town close to home that you still haven’t got around to visiting.

I live in Georgia. I read the Walking Dead comics all the way to issue 100. I devoured the Vampire Diaries TV series, watching each new episode before streaming was a thing. Regrettably, I have yet to visit either one of the filming locations done in the very state I live in. Am I really a fan if I haven’t visited either one??

For those who aren’t familiar, there is a town in the Walking Dead story called Woodbury and it was filmed in Senoia, Ga. There are tours through downtown to see where parts of it was filmed. Norman Reedus, who played the badass Daryl Dixon, and Greg Nicotero, a co-producer for Walking Dead, opened a Nic & Norman’s restaurant there. It has been well-received with highly positive reviews and sits on my bucket list of places to eat at.

A very tragic scene in Walking Dead #100 was the reason I stopped reading the books. Yes, I had the variant Walking Dead #100 in my hands fresh off the press. Without any spoilers, there was so much emotional damage up into that point, it was nauseating and soul-crushing to watch how one of my favorite characters’ fate be delivered to them. When I read it, I slapped the book shut and cupped my mouth. I didn’t know whether to cry or throw up first. But that didn’t stop me from watching the show when it first aired. I love Daryl and Michonne! However I did coward out when the certain scene from issue 100 was about to make a televised appearance.

Earlier I mentioned how much I love the Vampire Diaries, and my goodness! I was all about some Damon Salvatore. Their story sets in Mystic Falls which was filmed in Covington, Ga. The Mystic Grills restaurant seen as one of the main settings in the show is a popular attraction for all VD fans who visit the town. Ian Somerhalder has been known to make appearances there.

I personally haven’t read the Vampire Diaries books, but I did hear there are some differences between them and the TV show. I plan to read the series eventually. Eventually… (side-eyes glaring TBR pile).

Have you been to either one of these locations? What was your experience like?

2 thoughts on “I really should be ashamed of myself

  1. Thanks for sharing that cool information. I watched TWD for a few years, years ago, and I knew it was filmed in GA but I didn’t know where. I will try to visit that town.

    Like

Comments are closed.

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑